JOEBOB
JOEBOB's stats
 
  • Review count
    1
  • Helpfulness votes
    0
  • First review
    September 18, 2012
  • Last review
    September 18, 2012
  • Featured reviews
    0
  • Average rating
    1
 
  • Answer count
    2
  • Helpfulness votes
    0
  • First answer
    September 18, 2012
  • Last answer
    September 18, 2012
  • Featured answers
    0
  • Best answers
    0
 
 
 
JOEBOB's Reviews
 
Our elegant Classic Wall-mount Hose Holder is designed to look great and function for years. The cast aluminum holder neatly stores up to 125 ft. of 5/8" hose on any flat vertical surface. Elegant and durable cast aluminum construction Powdercoated bronze finish resists corroding Stainless steel mounting anchors included Premium hose and nozzle sold separately Installation required; view instructions
 
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
POORLY DESIGNED FOR MOUNTING ON BRICK,
Date:September 18, 2012
ByJOEBOB
New/Existing Customer:Existing
Date:September 18, 2012
While the product is visually pleasing relative to the more utilitarian hose reels on the market, I found it impossible to mount on my brick surface. The reel comes with expansion bolts. My builder suggested I not use expansion bolts as they may crack the brick. And, it was impossible to line up the expansion bolts with the mortar intervals so that the expansion bolts would align with the the mortar intervals using the pre-drilled "T" mount holes.
Then I tried using cement screws for the mounting. While cement screws can be used in either brick or mortar, they could not be used with this application. The use of screws require the device to be fully assembled prior to mounting since the bolts holding the front plate trellis must first be screwed into the front trellis from the rear of the "T" mount. But a fully assembled holder does not leave enough space to operate the drill. An intractable situation. Not well designed.
Others may have better luck. I didn't.
Pros: Appearance
Cons: difficult/impossible to mount
 
JOEBOB's Answers
 
Our elegant Classic Wall-mount Hose Holder is designed to look great and function for years. The cast aluminum holder neatly stores up to 125 ft. of 5/8" hose on any flat vertical surface. Elegant and durable cast aluminum construction Powdercoated bronze finish resists corroding Stainless steel mounting anchors included Premium hose and nozzle sold separately Installation required; view instructions
 

I would like to purchase this hose holder, but how difficult is it to mount to a brick or stone home?

My builder told me expansion bolts that come with the unit may crack my brick. Not sure about stone. Use of cement screws I found to be intractable with the mounting design.
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
JOEBOB
 
Our elegant Classic Wall-mount Hose Holder is designed to look great and function for years. The cast aluminum holder neatly stores up to 125 ft. of 5/8" hose on any flat vertical surface. Elegant and durable cast aluminum construction Powdercoated bronze finish resists corroding Stainless steel mounting anchors included Premium hose and nozzle sold separately Installation required; view instructions
 

can this hose holder hold 150' of 5/8" hose

curious as to whether or not this hose holder can hold 150' of 5/8" hose even though the stated maximum is 125'.
Probably not. 150' of hose would require some of the hose to extend beyond the outside metal trellis. It might work but would be unsightly.
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
JOEBOB