GadgetGal
GadgetGal's stats
 
  • Review count
    3
  • Helpfulness votes
    0
  • First review
    April 27, 2012
  • Last review
    July 20, 2012
  • Featured reviews
    0
  • Average rating
    4
 
  • Answer count
    4
  • Helpfulness votes
    2
  • First answer
    July 20, 2012
  • Last answer
    August 6, 2012
  • Featured answers
    0
  • Best answers
    1
 
 
 
GadgetGal's Reviews
 
Seeing the realistic flames of these Outdoor Dream Candles flickering in the heat of summer and on breezy evenings is pure magic. Virtually indistinguishable from the real thing, our battery-powered candles' dancing "flame" is illuminated from within by high intensity LEDs. A convenient remote turns them on and off with the touch of a button. Candles are for outdoor use; all-weather plastic pillar won't melt in heat or crack in cold Realistic flickering flame won't blow out Miniature holes drain moisture out Convenient 24 hour on/off timer Included remote controls all Dream Candles within 12 ft. radius Two D batteries not included (per candle) 250 hour battery life per candle in timer mode Note: Not for use with spiked candleholders.
 
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So real you can feel the heat!,
Date:July 20, 2012
ByGadgetGal
New/Existing Customer:Existing
Date:July 20, 2012
As I have three cats who enjoy free access to my deck, and are always investigating everything on my table, having battery-operated candles, indoor and out, makes me feel much safer, for them and for me.
After returning previous outdoor candles that looked very fake, I purchased 3 Dream Candles for my outdoor deck. They are attractive and ingenious, with the wavering "flames" so realistic you imagine real heat from the burning wick. It's wonderful that I can leave them outside through any weather, and turn them on and off with the handy remote. I liked them so much, I bought another two for my buffet table.
Pros: Quality, Appearance, Durability, flame moves + flickers
 
 11-ft. Side Mount Umbrella
11-ft. Side Mount Umbrella
From dawn to dusk, the 11' Side-mount Umbrella blocks the sun's glare as it moves across the sky, virtually shading you from all angles of the sun. This resort-quality, cantilever umbrella easily tilts 40&#176 and pivots 360&#176 around the base, requiring no maintenance. 11' dia. cantilever design provides 95 sq. ft. of shade at virtually any angle Lightweight yet sturdy powdercoat-finished, 2-3/4" dia. aluminum pole One-handed crank operation glides the umbrella up and into a horizontal or angled position Double-vented, marine-grade canopy is made of 100% solution-dyed polyester to resist the damaging effects of sun, mildew, and dirt Canopy is machine washable; air dry only Spot clean canopy with warm water (no higher than 100°F) and a mild natural soap; rinse thoroughly to remove soap and air dry Base lends solid, wind-defying support when filled with water and sand (water and sand not included) Basic umbrella cover included Always close umbrella when not in use, or in inclement weather View simple set-up instructions for this umbrella View simple replacement canopy instructions for this umbrella
 
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great umbrella is the centerpiece of deck garden,
Date:May 24, 2012
ByGadgetGal
New/Existing Customer:Existing
Date:May 24, 2012
Until I installed your lovely umbrella, my large deck overlooking our lake was in full sun, and too hot to use; previous table umbrellas had been lifted off the deck by wind gusts, and were not an option for me. The 11' span gives ample shade for the 16' x 12' deck, allowing me to enjoy my breakfast and dinner under it every day; it is extremely easy to open and close, even to tilt and rotate, and I can do it alone. Since I have to move it every 2 years to have the deck washed and sealed, the sand in the base was put into multiple quart zip lock bags first; and the large round base has become a tiered green island with the addition of a pond liner protective layer, under 4 self-watering planters with perrennial Hostas. I am even growing Morning Glory vines up the arched support (with the aid of bird netting), and am adding umbrella lights under the canopy with outdoor extensions and a timer. Thank you!
Pros: Appearance, Quality, Durability, ease of use, perfect size, wind stability, non-rust materials
 
Controlled by a convenient remote, our Battery-operated Flameless Outdoor Candles create instant ambiance with the touch of a button. These candles have the realistic, flickering glow of a real candle without the mess or worry. A 24-hour timer with 5- and 10-hour modes turns candles on or off at the same time each evening. The remote (sold separately) controls candles within a 12' radius Crafted from all-weather resin that looks like real wax Won't melt, even in extreme temperatures Patented wick provides an ultra-realistic look Operates without fire, smoke or soot Safe around children and pets Each candle operates on 2 "D" batteries, not included Flickers up to 2,000 hours on a single set of batteries Drain holes allow moisture to drain out Miniature drain holes allow moisture to drain out Patented, realistic looking wick Rust-resistant stainless steel housing protects interior circuitry For indoor or outdoor use Note: Not for use with spiked candleholders.
 
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Outdoor candle could use redesign,
Date:April 27, 2012
ByGadgetGal
New/Existing Customer:New
Date:April 27, 2012
Frontgate's outdoor candles' remote works fine; however, the candles themselves are unattractive compared to outdoor wax candles, as the large D battery base prevents any light from entering or glowing from the lower half of each candle. The outer construction in plastic, rather than wax, is probably sturdier in summer heat, but is part of the problem in that it doesn't allow a channel for light to permeate it and glow, like wax does. Basically, it looks like half of the candle is not working at all.
I hope Frontgate, in keeping with its excellent and attractive products, considers redesigning their outdoor candles to solve this visual problem.
Pros: Quality
Cons: Appearance
 
GadgetGal's Answers
 
Seeing the realistic flames of these Outdoor Dream Candles flickering in the heat of summer and on breezy evenings is pure magic. Virtually indistinguishable from the real thing, our battery-powered candles' dancing "flame" is illuminated from within by high intensity LEDs. A convenient remote turns them on and off with the touch of a button. Candles are for outdoor use; all-weather plastic pillar won't melt in heat or crack in cold Realistic flickering flame won't blow out Miniature holes drain moisture out Convenient 24 hour on/off timer Included remote controls all Dream Candles within 12 ft. radius Two D batteries not included (per candle) 250 hour battery life per candle in timer mode Note: Not for use with spiked candleholders.
 

Can't figure out the timer on these outdoor candles

These candles are not like regular luminara candles. The bottom has a button instead of a switch and there are no instructions on how to set the timer. Can you please give me instructions.
Dear DPratt,

I have had my Dream Candles for a while now; as I remember, as long as you put batteries in your candles properly, you don't need to push the button on the candle bottom; just place your candles upright, and aim your remote (any Dream remote works with all Dream candles at once) at them and it/they all turn on at once. Same for the off button. The only thing to watch for is that the remote doesn't seem to work through glass, so you have to open your sliding door or window if you are inside, and aim directly at the candles. It will work through a screen, though.

Hope this helps! I love my Dream Candles, and all my friends want to get some now.

GadgetGal
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
GadgetGal
Virginia, USA
 
 11-ft. Side Mount Umbrella
11-ft. Side Mount Umbrella
From dawn to dusk, the 11' Side-mount Umbrella blocks the sun's glare as it moves across the sky, virtually shading you from all angles of the sun. This resort-quality, cantilever umbrella easily tilts 40&#176 and pivots 360&#176 around the base, requiring no maintenance. 11' dia. cantilever design provides 95 sq. ft. of shade at virtually any angle Lightweight yet sturdy powdercoat-finished, 2-3/4" dia. aluminum pole One-handed crank operation glides the umbrella up and into a horizontal or angled position Double-vented, marine-grade canopy is made of 100% solution-dyed polyester to resist the damaging effects of sun, mildew, and dirt Canopy is machine washable; air dry only Spot clean canopy with warm water (no higher than 100°F) and a mild natural soap; rinse thoroughly to remove soap and air dry Base lends solid, wind-defying support when filled with water and sand (water and sand not included) Basic umbrella cover included Always close umbrella when not in use, or in inclement weather View simple set-up instructions for this umbrella View simple replacement canopy instructions for this umbrella
 

Can the umbrella be turned to cover a few lounge chairs and then back over the table?

Dear FrankB4now,

This umbrella seems to pivot very easily with just a push against the side of the pole, or a tug on the canopy, so you can move it around in a full circle, and direct the shade wherever you want it, whenever you need it.

However, in wind, the large canopy tends to act like a sail, and rotate by itself, and it is not easy to tighten the base ring enough to keep it in one position. You will need to talk to the company if you have a problem with this; I have suggested to another owner he might use fishing line to tie the top of the pole to something solid to keep it in one position. You might have other good ideas ... It is a wonderful umbrella, well made, and gives a lot of shade.

GadgetGal
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
GadgetGal
Virginia, USA
 
 11-ft. Side Mount Umbrella
11-ft. Side Mount Umbrella
From dawn to dusk, the 11' Side-mount Umbrella blocks the sun's glare as it moves across the sky, virtually shading you from all angles of the sun. This resort-quality, cantilever umbrella easily tilts 40&#176 and pivots 360&#176 around the base, requiring no maintenance. 11' dia. cantilever design provides 95 sq. ft. of shade at virtually any angle Lightweight yet sturdy powdercoat-finished, 2-3/4" dia. aluminum pole One-handed crank operation glides the umbrella up and into a horizontal or angled position Double-vented, marine-grade canopy is made of 100% solution-dyed polyester to resist the damaging effects of sun, mildew, and dirt Canopy is machine washable; air dry only Spot clean canopy with warm water (no higher than 100°F) and a mild natural soap; rinse thoroughly to remove soap and air dry Base lends solid, wind-defying support when filled with water and sand (water and sand not included) Basic umbrella cover included Always close umbrella when not in use, or in inclement weather View simple set-up instructions for this umbrella View simple replacement canopy instructions for this umbrella
 

Can you secure the umbrella so that it does not move.

In the wind the umbrella does not stay in place, it keeps pivoting. How can I make it stay in one place and not move around?
Dear JRTR,

I had this same problem, being unable to tighten the ring above the base enough to keep the arm from rotating in the wind, Since my umbrella was on my deck, the canopy would stop when it wedged against my back wall; then I would swivel it back out when I needed space to close it. So in my confined space, the pivoting was not such a big issue.

If you are also unable to tighten the base ring enough, the only thing I can suggest for you would be to use several strands of strong transparent monofilament line (fishing line) and tie the end of the pole over the canopy to the closest solid structure (a wall or a tree) in the position you use it most often open for max shade. You could use a small stainless steel clip at one end, so you could move the umbrella later without detaching the cord. Think of it like a leash for a stubborn hound! This might keep the open umbrella from pivoting, be unobtrusive, and still allow you to close the umbrella without removing the "leash".

Hope this helps.

GadgetGal
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
GadgetGal
Virginia, USA
 
 11-ft. Side Mount Umbrella
11-ft. Side Mount Umbrella
From dawn to dusk, the 11' Side-mount Umbrella blocks the sun's glare as it moves across the sky, virtually shading you from all angles of the sun. This resort-quality, cantilever umbrella easily tilts 40&#176 and pivots 360&#176 around the base, requiring no maintenance. 11' dia. cantilever design provides 95 sq. ft. of shade at virtually any angle Lightweight yet sturdy powdercoat-finished, 2-3/4" dia. aluminum pole One-handed crank operation glides the umbrella up and into a horizontal or angled position Double-vented, marine-grade canopy is made of 100% solution-dyed polyester to resist the damaging effects of sun, mildew, and dirt Canopy is machine washable; air dry only Spot clean canopy with warm water (no higher than 100°F) and a mild natural soap; rinse thoroughly to remove soap and air dry Base lends solid, wind-defying support when filled with water and sand (water and sand not included) Basic umbrella cover included Always close umbrella when not in use, or in inclement weather View simple set-up instructions for this umbrella View simple replacement canopy instructions for this umbrella
 

What is the weight of the base of umbrella stand?

Dear PVAZ,

The umbrella base is a good quality plastic, and very light. You will need to add 200 lbs of playground sand (not water, which can evaporate) into its bottom half to stabilize the 100 lb long arm and canopy.

Since I have to move my umbrella every two years when my condo power washes my deck, I put the sand first into sturdy quart zip-lock plastic bags (2 bags for each, for extra strength), then pushed the bags together into the base. This way, I can remove the bags easily, then move the base, when I have to. But if your umbrella doesn't have to move, then you can just dump the sand in.
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
GadgetGal